Connect with us

Wisconsin Badgers

Pioneers 4, Badgers 3, OT: Wrapup and three stars from Wisconsin’s men’s hockey loss to No. 8 Denver | Wisconsin Badgers Hockey

The Badgers were dealt a crushing blow Saturday, losing two leads and then falling 4-3 overtime on defenseman Slava Demin’s second goal of the series.

Slava Demin scored in overtime, and No. 8 Denver rallied twice to complete a sweep of the University of Wisconsin men’s hockey team with a 4-3 victory on Saturday at the Kohl Center. The Badgers scored two goals in the first 5:16 and got the game’s first five shots on goal but were outshot 40-8 the rest of the way.

Three stars

No. 3: Brock Caufield had a goal and an assist for the Badgers, but he was also one of the five players on the ice for Denver’s overtime score.

No. 2: Liam Finlay assisted on both the tying and winning goals for the Pioneers.

No. 1: Slava Demin’s second goal and third point of the series gave the Pioneers the sweep.

Up next

The Badgers host the U.S. Under-18 Team in an exhibition game at 7 p.m. Saturday.


The University of Wisconsin men’s hockey team has two changes in the lineup for Saturday night’s game against No. 8 Denver at the Kohl Center (7 p.m., FSW+, 1310 AM).

Jack Berry replaces Daniel Lebedeff in goal after the latter started the last six games. Berry’s last start was in a 1-1 tie at Michigan on Nov. 23, although he appeared in relief against Penn State on Dec. 1.

Winger Max Zimmer is out of the lineup for the first time this season; he has on the fourth line for Friday’s 6-3 loss to the Pioneers. In his place, the Badgers are dressing seven defensemen, giving senior Jake Bunz his first appearance on the line chart since March 11, 2017.

Denver goalie Devin Cooley, who left Friday’s game with a lower-body injury, won’t dress Saturday. The Pioneers had to bring third-string netminder Michael Corson up from Chicago, where he was visiting family, to back up Filip Larsson. Corson’s equipment came to Madison with a student manager on a flight earlier in the day.

Badgers (8-8-3)

Jack Gorniak – Seamus Malone – Will Johnson

Linus Weissbach – Tarek Baker – Sean Dhooghe

Roman Ahcan – Dominick Mersch – Brock Caufield

Matthew Freytag – Mick Messner – Jason Dhooghe

Tyler Inamoto – Wyatt Kalynuk

Jesper Peltonen – Ty Emberson

Pioneers (11-4-2)

Jarid Lukosevicius – Cole Guttman – Emilio Pettersen

Colin Staub – Jaakko Heikkinen – Ryan Barrow

Tyler Ward – Kohen Olischefski – Liam Finlay

Jake Durflinger – Tyson McLellan – Jared Resseguie

Griffin Mendel – Michael Davies

Slava Demin – Ian Mitchell

Les Lancaster – Erich Fear

Source Link

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Wisconsin Badgers