Connect with us

Wisconsin Badgers

Fighting Irish 6, Badgers 4: Wrapup and three stars from Wisconsin’s men’s hockey loss | College

Mike O’Leary fired a shot past backup goalie Jack Berry with 6 minutes, 24 seconds remaining, breaking a tie in what ended up as a 6-4 Notre Dame victory.

Mike O’Leary broke a tie with 6:24 remaining as No. 12 Notre Dame got the last swing of the game in its favor for a 6-4 victory over the University of Wisconsin men’s hockey team on Friday at the Kohl Center. The Badgers, who had a 37-23 advantage in shots on goal, scored three straight goals to rally from a 2-0 deficit but the Fighting Irish outscored UW 4-1 from that point to counterpunch after the Badgers had long stretches of control.

Three stars

No. 3: Irish defenseman Matt Hellickson didn’t have a point but ended up plus-4 in a game where four of the 10 goals were scored on the power play.

No. 2: Mike O’Leary’s third-period goal put Notre Dame ahead for good.

No. 1: Michael Graham entered the game with one goal in 20 games, but he took advantage of power-play time because of Notre Dame’s injuries to score twice.

Up next

The Badgers and Irish play at Chicago’s United Center at 6:30 p.m. Sunday.


The University of Wisconsin men’s hockey team hopes to get back to its Big Ten Conference winning ways when it hosts No. 12 Notre Dame on Friday at the Kohl Center (8 p.m., ESPNU, 1310 AM).

The Badgers have a six-game unbeaten streak in conference play and have won three in a row. But it has been five weeks since UW had league points on the line, and it was swept by Denver and lost an exhibition game to the U.S. Under-18 Team at home in the last two weekends.

UW will try to take advantage of a depleted Notre Dame forward lineup. The top three goal-scorers — Cal Burke, Cam Morrison and Joe Wegwerth — are out injured.

Badgers (8-9-3, 4-3-3-1 Big Ten)

Linus Weissbach – Seamus Malone – Will Johnson

Jack Gorniak – Tarek Baker – Sean Dhooghe

Roman Ahcan – Dominick Mersch – Brock Caufield

Matthew Freytag – Mick Messner – Jason Dhooghe

Tyler Inamoto – Wyatt Kalynuk

K’Andre Miller – Ty Emberson

Fighting Irish (12-8-1, 5-6)

Colin Theisen – Jake Pivonka – Alex Steeves

Dylan Malmquist – Mike O’Leary – Michael Graham

Graham Slaggert – Cam Burke – Jack Jenkins

Luke Novak – Pierce Crawford – Matt Steeves

Bobby Nardella – Andrew Peeke

Matt Hellickson – Tory Dello

Spencer Stastney – Nate Clurman

Source Link

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Wisconsin Badgers